Home Page


Club History

Contact Page

Tree Frog News

Photo Gallery

Season 2000 Draw

Season 2000 Results

Favorite Links

Player Profiles

Player Profiles

Club History

32 Years of Rugby League
Macquarie University Rugby League Football Club was formed in 1969. In its inaugural season, Macquarie fielded an Under 19 team and a C- grade team in the North Sydney Junior League competition.

In 1970 the three metropolitan universities (Macquarie, Sydney and Uni of NSW) mooted that a competition be introduced to involve teams from all the tertiary institutions, shortly after the University Cup was launched which has evolved into what is now the NSW Tertiary Student League.

The early days of the competition saw Sydney Uni as a dominant force in the competition, coming from the NSW Rugby League Second Division. The club produced two First Grade footballers Denis Bendall and Warren Boland both going on to play with Balmain.

Back at Macquarie things were building nicely. In 1973-74 we tasted our first success winning the Arnold Stehr Knockout Competition. Then in 1977 the club obtained the services of Theo Burgess as coach, now the assistant coach of Melbourne storm, he was responsible for introducing a professional approach to the club. The years that followed were successful for Macquarie because of this foundation.

In 1979, the Club won the pre-season competition and our first Club Championship with plenty more to come. In 1980 the Club went one better than the previous years' performance by adding its initial Second Grade Premiership with a 22-9 win. In 1981, all four teams made the semi-finals, with the Club winning the Club Championship by amazing 150 points. An accomplishment that has yet to be repeated by any other Club in the League. It was also a fantastic year for our third grade team who went through undefeated. In 1982 and 1983 Macquarie retained the Club championship.

Macquarie has fielded three teams since 1984-85 with all teams making the major semi-finals and retained the Club Championship. 1984 saw Macquarie come of age by winning the First Division Grand Final from archrivals Catholic College and in the process lose the bridesmaid tag.

1985 was a disappointing year on the field for the club in the Tertiary Cup, however on a representative level six Macquarie University personnel made the NSW University Student team - Don Gorman (trainer), Geoff Bates (coach), Paul Samany (manager), Geoff Waring, Graham and Peter Sharp. This team played the curtain raiser to the Australia vs.New Zealand clash at Lang Park.

In 1986 all three Macquarie grades made the Grand Final with only Second grade coming away from the Grand Final successful. By 1991 however the Club had folded.

The rebuilding process of Macquarie University Rugby League Club began back in 1997. From small beginnings in a trial at Catholic College's home ground in April where Macquarie fielded 6 players in a mixed side against ACU the club gained momentum to attract a playing roster of 24 players coached by Paul Samany. After an up and down season the club played off for the Third Division plate grand final with the team beating UTS 18-0 at Peter Hislop Oval. The following year the club once again made the grand final with John Macevoy as coach however were beaten convincingly at Lidcombe Oval by Cumberland. After tasting success in the previous two seasons 1999 was a disappointing season for the club. Struggling for players and suffering several key injuries early the club finished the season low on the table.

Macquarie University Squad 1999
L-R Standing: C Summerhayes (Spud); A Kalachian (Avo); G Cumberland (Colonel); B Summerhayes (Bomber); G Hazell (Nuc); Luke; C Marchegiani (Macca); Steve Lucas; ; Gerard.
L-R Kneeling: John Dike (JD); Scott Lewis (Rhino); Elie El-azzi.